Its Finally come back round to Nomination month for the Costa awards 2015. The Book Awards were established by Whitbread in 1971 and encouraged, promoted and celebrated the enjoyment of reading. They became the Costa Book Awards in 2006.

Books are entered by their publishers, and entered into a series of categories including :Costa First Novel Award, Costa Novel Award, Costa Biography Award (includes Autobiography and Memoir), Costa Poetry Award, Costa Children’s Book Award and Costa Book of the Year.

Short-lists for the five Costa Book Awards will be announced in November. Award winners will be announced in early January 2016, with the overall winner to be announced in late January 2016.

Each Award will be judged by a panel of three judges. The final nine-member judging panel selects the overall Costa Book of the Year. It consists of a Chairman, a judge from each category panel and three other people who love reading.

Hannah Beckerman – Author and Journalist
Lauren Hadden – Deputy Editor, Psychologies Magazine
Matt Haig – Writer

Louise Doughty – Novelist
David Headley – Managing Director, Goldsboro Books
Cathy Rentzenbrink – Books Editor, The Bookseller; Director, Quick Reads

Simon Heafield – Marketing Manager
Foyles Penny – Junor Biographer
Jane Shilling – Author and Critic

Julia Copus – Poet and Children’s Author
Adam Newey-  Poetry Critic
Melanie Prince – Co-Owner of The Poetry Bookshop, Hay-on-Wye

Martyn Bedford – Writer
Melissa Cox – Head of Children’s Buying for Waterstones
Andrea Rees – Managing Editor, Books for Keeps; Children’s Books Reviewer and Specialist

The winners and runners up for each category win a series of cash prizes from £500 -£30,000 depending on category and placing, for more information you can have a look at the official website on :

Last years winners include the following :

H is for Hawk Helen Macdonald, Random House Publishing

 First Novel Award
Elizabeth is Missing Emma Healey, Viking Publishing

Novel Award
How to be both Ali Smith, Hamish Hamilton Publishing

Biography Award
H is for Hawk Helen Macdonald, Random House Publishing

Poetry Award
My Family and Other Superheroes Jonathan Edwards,  Seren Publishing

Children’s Book Award
Five Children on the Western Front Kate Saunders, Faber & Faber Publishing

I look forward to reporting to you all in November what the short-listed nominee’s are for this year’s awards, and to report on any further developments and the eventual winners of this years competition. Until then, read more books.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s